Golf Legends - A Race To The Masters!



     Started in the 1930’s by Bobby Jones and Clifford Roberts. The Masters, becoming one of the most sought after and admired tournaments, has over the years reeled in some of golf’s most prominent professionals. The Masters Tournament which is normally held in the month of April is traditionally held at a private club in Augusta, Georgia built by Bobby Jones along with architect Alister MacKenzie.


     The first tournament was played in 1934, and the pool of players is a small one compared to the other championship tournaments, because The Masters is by invitation only. Let’s move on to the distinctive green jacket. Since the 1949 Masters, the tournament champion would receive a green jacket. (1. Golf Did You Know Fact?) The green jacket must be returned to the clubhouse one year after victory, but remains the champion’s personal property. A repeated champion will use the same jacket, unless the golfer needs to be resized. These jackets can only be removed by a first-time or current champion.


     On the Tuesday before the big championship, there is what's called a Champions Dinner, first inaugurated by Ben Hogan in 1952. This is a pre-event held for past champions and a few board members of the Augusta National Golf Club. Starting in 1960 they began a semi-social challenge on a par-3 course played on the Wednesday before round 1. Since 1963, past champions and some legendary golfers have hit a commencement tee shot on the morning of the championship at the start of the first round.


     There have been many golf legends to grace the greens of the Masters Tournament. Follow us down this short path as we name a few.

Jack Nicklaus-(Nicknamed Golden Bear), is overwhelmingly considered to be the greatest golfer of all time, winning more than 117 professional championships. Nicklaus first took up golf at the age of 10, and he is a six-time winner of The Masters Tournament between 1963 and 1986.

Tiger Woods- At 18 years of age,he would win the World Golf Championship and become a professional golfer at the age of 20 in 1996. Woods went on to build an illustrious golf career. During the first 10 years of the 21st century, Tiger was a dominant force in professional golf. He was named as a top-ranked golfer in the world by 1999. As the next decade rolled around Woods's reign would be plagued by setbacks, personal problems and injuries. Tiger Woods is a five-time winner of The Masters Tournament between 1997 and 2019.

Arnold Palmer -(nicknamed The King)-Palmer is a well-known name in golf, dating all the way back to the 1950's. Arnold Palmer was a U.S. Coast Guard, serving for three years from 1951-1954. In 1954, he won the U.S. Amateur, and at that moment decided to turn Pro. Palmer's dominant years were between 1960-1963, where he won 29 PGA Tour events. Arnold Palmer is a four-time winner of The Masters Tournament between 1958 and 1964.


Masters Tournament Time-Line

1933- The Augusta National Course Opened.

1934- The first Masters Tournament was played.

1949- The first Green Jacket was won

1952- Ben Hogan inaugurated the first Champions Dinner.

1960- The first Par-3 Challenge was played.m

1963- Legendary Champions start honorary tee shot.


Popular posts from this blog

The Best Top 3 Golf Courses In Florida.

Jon Rahm, How It Began For The 2023 Masters Tournament Champion.

The 2023 Masters Tournament Played at Augusta National